Dear Mom

Standard

Dear Mom,

I know I always tell you that I love St Augustine and that I’ll never move back to Winter Haven or even Polk County. And while that is the plan, I want to clear up that I miss you every day. That I wish I could see you every day. That I HATE living two and half hours away from you and the rest of our family. I’m comforted by reminding myself that it could always be a bigger distance.

You have taught me such independence. I’m pretty sure I came out of the womb telling you no. But I’m sure you did the same thing. I’m so much like you, it’s insane. I get aggravated with myself when I realize I’m doing things that you used to drive me crazy doing. But then I get excited when I notice the things about myself that I love in you. I am so very much like you. And that is good. Thank you for being THE most honest person I know. I can truly say that that is most people’s favorite thing about me and I always say, “I get it from my Mama.” I rarely remember lying to you growing up. And any time I did, it just ruined me so much that I couldn’t even stand it. Honesty, truthfulness, real-ness. What beautiful attributes you instilled in me. Thank you for also showing me what it means to be fierce. To fight for good things and to fight against the bad. That’s something you’ve always nurtured in me and I really appreciate it more than you know. I get my passion from you. I know you won’t believe that, but it’s true.

Thank you for always supporting me. And I mean ALWAYS. Well, except maybe for the first time I dyed my hair red and the first time I got my lip pierced. You weren’t too supportive of those things, but that’s okay. You came around. HA! You support my marriage, my decisions, my continual frustration with education, my relationship with God, my creativity. You challenge me to ask questions and to try harder and to rest when I need to. Thank you for that. Thank you for trusting me enough. You spent so many years raising me to be a smart, independent woman and I can’t imagine how hard it is to just back off and watch me do it. Thank you for trusting me but always been right there when I need to ask for help. Or call and cry. We did that just what… last week? πŸ˜‰Β Thank you for being interested in the things that Becky and I were interested in. Thank you for sharing ideas and always wanting to be a part of what we love. I’m sure I went through a faze when that annoyed me and if so, I’m sorry. Because all I can think of now is how supportive and hands-on my Mom is. Thank you for supporting me in any college I wanted to go to. Thank you for supporting me in relationships. Thank you for constantly reminding me that I married the most amazing man, and that I am super blessed. Thank you for supporting me when I want to do crazy things like host Thanksgiving in a 35 foot camper. Thank you for supporting me when I say I want to go to hair school. Thank you for supporting me when I change my mind. Or not. I still haven’t decided. And you support that.

I’m so proud of you. Ever since childhood, you have faced things that were insanely difficult. I don’t know how you kept it together. And I’m so thankful that you’ve surrendered everything to the God who sits on His throne and is control of it all. I’m so glad that you remember and remind me that He goes before us and walks beside us. I’m so proud of you and all that you’ve done.

::

You’re beautiful and I love you. Thank you for always being such a divine mixture of kick-ass Mom and close friend.

Love, your baby girl.

::

::

cheers, ka

::

::

::

8 responses »

  1. I can’t begin to tell you how touched I am. I love you and your sister so very much, and you know I have always been proud of you both!! I wish I could write as well as you to express myself. One of the greatest gifts GOD gave me was the two of you, I have loved every day,(even the rough ones) of my life as a Mother. I honestly have never regretted staying home with you girls, because I feel that was what GOD planned for me, because being a Mother is the Greatest gift!!!
    I LOVE YOU TO THE MOON AND BACK< AND AGAIN AND AGAIN AND RICOCHET!!!!!!

    • I’m glad. You are seriously very, very, VERY deserving of this. Proverbs 31:28, “Her children arise and call her blessed, her husband also, and he praises her.” We love you. Thank you for EVERYTHING!!!!

Leave a Reply

